Usain Bolt, Elaine Thompson Win NACAC Top Awards!

Usain Bolt, Elaine Thompson Win NACAC Top Awards!


Bolt, Thompson cop coveted Awards

Jamaican athletes Usain Bolt and Elaine Thompson were recent recipients of the NACAC Male and Female Athletes of the Year awards.

In August, Bolt became the first person in history to win three consecutive 100 and 200 meters Olympic gold medals at the Rio Olympic Games.

And Thompson completed a rare sprint double at the Rio Games by winning gold in the 100m (with a time of 10.71 s) and the 200m (21.78 s), becoming the first female sprinter to do so since Florence Griffith Joyner at the Seoul Olympics in 1988

American athletes Noah Lyles and Sydney McLaughlin received the Junior Athletes of the Year titles.

The finalists were selected from a shortlist of nominees submitted by sports journalists spanning English and Spanish-speaking Caribbean during the month of October.

2016 NACA Athletes of the Year

Male Athlete:

Usain Bolt (JAM)

Female Athlete:

Elaine Thompson (JAM)

Junior Male Athlete:

Noah Lyles (USA)

Junior Female Athlete:

Sydney McLaughlin (USA)

Facebook Comments